Ramp Inspection Programme

SAFA

Safety assessements of domestic and foreign registered aircraft and their operators (SAFA, SACA, SANA).

Under the bilateral agreements with the European Union, Switzerland is required to carry out unannounced inspections (ramp inspections) of aircraft as part of a centrally coordinated programme run by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA). This programme is based on Article 4 of European Commission Regulation (EU) No 965/2012 and is regulated by EASA. Under the programme, aircraft of operators subject to the oversight of another member state or a third country may undergo random inspections for technical and operational safety. Fifty countries currently participate in the programme, including Switzerland.

Who conducts the inspections?

The Federal Office of Civil Aviation employs specially trained inspectors to carry out the ramp inspections at all domestic airfields in accordance with internationally standardised specifications. The aim is to create a uniform and high level of civil aviation safety in Europe.

Categorisation and applicable legal bases

As the aircraft have different countries of origin, different legal bases also apply, which is why ramp inspections are categorised as follows:

  • Aircraft from third countries: SAFA (Safety Assessment of Foreign Aircraft)
  • Aircraft from member states: SACA (Safety Assessment of Community Aircraft)
  • Domestic aircraft: SANA (Safety Assessment of National Aircraft)

SAFA inspections therefore follow the standards of the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO), whereas SACA and SANA are subject to the implementing regulations of European civil aviation law.

Evaluation of inspections

The results of the inspections are recorded in standardised reports and entered in a centralised database (EASA Ramp Inspection Tool). Both the operator of the inspected aircraft and the competent authority for it are informed of the inspection result. The information gathered is exchanged primarily at European level. Serious and repeated safety deficiencies can ultimately lead to a listing on the European Union's Air Safety List, which can result in severe restrictions for the airlines concerned, or in the worst case scenario, a ban on using European airspace.
EASA's role is to ensure ongoing standardisation across the programme, analyse inspection data and report to the European Commission and participating states, in particular when safety deficiencies become apparent.
Based on Regulation (EU) 2018/1042, which has been transposed into Swiss law, flight crew members are now subject to random alcohol checks during these ramp inspections. These are carried out on an ad hoc basis, i.e. even when there are no grounds for suspicion.

Further information

Specialist staff
Last modification 28.06.2021

Top of page

https://www.bazl.admin.ch/content/bazl/en/home/fachleute/flugverkehr/ramp_inspections.html

Ramp Inspection Programme

SAFA

Sicherheitskontrollen an in- und ausländisch registrierten Luftfahrzeugen und deren Betreiber (SAFA, SACA, SANA)

Die Schweiz ist über die bilateralen Verträge mit der Europäischen Union verpflichtet unangemeldete Kontrollen (sog. „Safety Assessments“) an Luftfahrzeugen im Rahmen eines zentral koordinierten Programms der Europäischen Agentur für Flugsicherheit (EASA) auszuführen. Dieses Programm wird durch die Verordnung (EU) Nr. 965/2012 (Artikel 4) der Europäischen Kommission veranlasst und durch die EASA geregelt. Luftfahrzeuge von Betreibern, die der Aufsicht eines anderen Mitgliedstaates oder eines Drittstaates unterliegen, werden dabei stichprobenartig auf ihre technische und flugbetriebliche Sicherheit geprüft. Aktuell nehmen 50 Staaten am Programm teil, darunter auch die Schweiz.

Wer führt die Kontrollen durch?

Das Bundesamt für Zivilluftfahrt setzt im Zuge der Vorfeldinspektionen speziell geschulte Inspektoren ein, welche die Überprüfungen nach international standardisierten Vorgaben auf sämtlichen inländischen Flugplätzen ausführen und sicherstellen. Ziel ist es ein einheitliches und hohes Niveau der zivilen Luftverkehrssicherheit in Europa zu schaffen.

Kategorisierung und anwendbare Rechtsgrundlagen

Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Herkunftsländer kommen auch unterschiedliche Rechtsgrundlagen zur Anwendung, weshalb die Vorfeldinspektionen wie folgt kategorisiert werden:

  • Luftfahrzeuge aus Drittstaaten: SAFA («Safety Assessment of Foreign Aircraft»)
  • Luftfahrzeuge aus Mitgliedsstaaten: SACA («Safety Assessment of Community Aircraft»)
  • Luftfahrzeuge aus dem Inland: SANA («Safety Assessment of National Aircraft»)

SAFA Inspektionen folgen demnach den Standards der International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) wohingegen bei SACA und SANA die Ausführungsverordnungen des europäischen Zivilluftfahrtrechts zur Anwendung kommen.

Auswertung der Inspektionen

Die Ergebnisse der Inspektionen werden in standardisierten Berichten festgehalten und in einer zentralisierten Datenbank (EASA Ramp Inspection Tool) erfasst. Sowohl der Betreiber des überprüften Luftfahrzeuges als auch die dafür zuständige Aufsichtsbehörde werden über das Inspektionsresultat in Kenntnis gesetzt. Die erfassten Daten dienen primär dem Informationsaustausch auf europäischer Ebene. Gravierende und wiederholte Sicherheitsmängel können in letzter Konsequenz zu einer Aufnahme in die «Air Safety List» der Europäischen Union führen, was für die betroffenen Airlines empfindliche Einschränkungen, im äussersten Fall ein europäisches Luftraumverbot zur Folge haben kann.

Die Rolle der EASA ist es, laufend für die programmweite Standardisierung zu sorgen, die Inspektionsdaten zu analysieren und der EU Kommission sowie den Teilnehmerstaaten Bericht zu erstatten, insbesondere wenn sich Defizite im Bereich der Sicherheit abzeichnen.

Neu werden gestützt auf die Verordnung (EU) Nr. 2018/1042, welche ins Schweizer Recht überführt wurde, die Flugbesatzungsmitglieder während diesen Vorfeldkontrollen stichprobeweise einer Alkoholkontrolle unterzogen. Diese Kontrollen erfolgen anlassfrei, sprich ohne begründeten Verdacht.

Weiterführende Informationen

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 28.06.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bazl.admin.ch/content/bazl/de/home/fachleute/flugverkehr/ramp_inspections.html