FABEC (Functional Airspace Block Europe Central)


Making the Single European Sky a success for all of us

In 2004, the European States and the European Commission agreed to establish a Single European Sky (SES). The goal is to make the use of European airspace even safer, more environmentally sustainable and more efficient. On the basis of this legislation, nine functional airspace blocks (FAB) were created in Europe. The aim is to control fl ights according to traffic flows, and not according to national borders.  

The Functional Airspace Block Europe Central (FABEC) covers the airspace of Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Switzerland and lies at the heart of Europe. FABEC contains some of Europe’s largest hubs (Paris, Frankfurt, Amsterdam, Munich) and has one of the highest volumes of air traffic in the world. In December 2010, the Ministers of Transport and highlevel military representatives from the six countries signed the FABEC Treaty which entered into force on 1 June 2013.

All FABEC partners are contributing to the ambitious goals of the Single European Sky, which include:

  • increasing safety
  • lowering levels of emissions by introducing more direct and effi cient routings
  • providing more capacity ensuring punctual arrivals for the passengers
  • improving military mission effectiveness

Further information

Specialist staff
Last modification 13.11.2015

Top of page