Continuing Airworthiness Management Organisations (CAMO)

Continuing airworthiness management organisations (CAMO) are either integrated into an aviation company or take the form of a separate entity that specialises in airworthiness management. In addition to holding a basic management licence, they may also be authorised to carry out the annual technical inspections of aircraft that are required in accordance with the applicable provisions of EASA Basic Regulation (EC)
N° 2018/1139, and under certain circumstances to issue permits to fly.

Continuing airworthiness management organisations perform a variety of tasks, including the development of maintenance programmes for aircraft, and the organisation or coordination of necessary modifications, repairs and maintenance work. Other activities include carrying out technical inspections of aircraft (if they possess the corresponding authorisation) and management of technical documentation of aircraft. They may also provide private-sector services to aircraft holders.

Application for a licence in accordance with Part M, Subpart G of Regulation (EC) No. 1321/2014

Applications must be made using EASA Form 2 and EASA Form 4, and must be accompanied by a CV of the manager of the continuing airworthiness management organisation. After these three documents have been submitted, the applicant will be asked to attend an initial interview during which all the necessary steps and the order in which they are to be carried out will be discussed and specified. At the same time, applicants receive a copy of «Anybody's Continuing Airworthiness Management Exposition», which is designed to help them prepare the corresponding operating manual.

Application Forms

Further information


Federal Office of Civil Aviation FOCA

Ronald Meier

Print contact