Operating permit according to SORA

SORA stands for specific operations risk assessment and encompasses a methodology which systematically identifies the risk of drone operations which require a permit. Any drone flight which cannot be covered by either an STS or a PDRA requires an application in accordance with SORA which is specific to the proposed operation.

Switzerland is adopting EU drone regulation on 1 January 2023: eight-month transition period

From 1 January 2023, the FOCA will only issue operational authorisations based on EU legislation. An eight-month transition period will apply to adapt authorisations under Swiss law to the new legislation. The transition period ends on 1 September 2023. The parties concerned must hold an authorisations permit on EU law by that date.

What is it about?

The FOCA and EASA have developed a total of three types of procedure for authorising complex drone operations (CH-STS, EU-STS, PDRA), all based on the SORA methodology. This methodology is used to determine the risk posed by a complex drone operation. This includes operations which take place beyond visual line of sight (BVLOS), exceed the maximum height of 120 metres or use a drone whose maximum take-off weight (MTOM) is greater than 25 kg. 

The SORA methodology represents an iterative process in which the risk of complex drone operations is systematically identified: In a total of 10 steps, the applicants themselves determine where, when and how they perform the operation without endangering people and objects in the air or on the ground. At the end of this process, there is a detailed description of the planned operation and the risks associated with it, as well as the measures required to mitigate the risks.

Preparations

Knowledge

What knowledge is necessary for a SORA? As the risk analysis is performed by the applicant (e.g. a company that wishes to perform the complex operation), knowledge of aviation as well as of the usual verification of safety-relevant systems in aviation is a fundamental requirement. Depending on the complexity of the planned operation, applying the SORA methodology is challenging, especially if risk analysis of drone flights is not part of a company’s or applicant’s core business.

Support

Risk analysis in accordance SORA is not within the competence of my company. What are my options? With the aim of simplifying and standardising the underlying processes, the FOCA, EASA and other bodies including JARUS have published specific guidance material (GM), which describes in detail the conditions that complete SORA documentation must contain. 

Alternative Means of Compliance (AltMoC) on Containment (SORA 2.0 Step 9)

FOCA has issued an Alternative Means of Compliance (AltMoC) to change the containment requirements and the assessment of their need as currently found in chapter 2.5.3 Step 9 of AMC1 to Article 11 of (EU) 2019/947.

This AltMoC applies to UAS Operators in specific category within Switzerland and focuses on changing the assessment triggers in point 2.5.3(c) which mandate enhanced containment for certain UAS operators.

The background and details of this AltMoC are handed out in the following document:

The steps to an approval

Note that obtaining a SORA authorisation is often an iterative process: The preparation of a risk analysis according to the SORA methodology takes time and is done in exchange with the FOCA. Therefore, depending on the complexity of a project and the necessary updates on the safety case following FOCA's assessment, the complete duration of a successful evaluation can expand over a longer period of time.

The entire authorization process - from the initial contact with the FOCA, to the completed SORA documents, to the authorisation - can be summarized with the following steps:

Notice of modification of authorized opperations

If you wish to report an operational or technical change to operations already authorised by the FOCA, please use the following form to extend your authorisation to this change.


Further information


Last modification 02.02.2023

Top of page

L’autorisation d’exploitation (SORA)

L’acronyme SORA est l’abréviation de « Specific Operations Risk Assessment » et renvoie à une méthodologie d’évaluation systématique des risques pour les types d’exploitation des drones soumis à autorisation préalable. Les types d’exploitation de drone qui n’entrent pas dans le cadre d’un STS ou d’une PDRA sont autorisés sur la base d’une évaluation SORA propre au type d’exploitation envisagé.

La Suisse reprend la réglementation de l’UE sur les drones le 1er janvier 2023: période transitoire de 8 mois

À dater du 1er janvier 2023, l’OFAC ne délivrera que des autorisations d’exploitation basées sur la législation européenne. Une période transitoire de huit mois est prévue pour adapter les autorisations d’exploitation aux nouvelles bases réglementaires. Ce délai expire le 1er septembre 2023, date à laquelle les autorisations devront être conformes au droit européen.

De quoi s'agit-il ?

L’OFAC et l’AESA ont élaboré trois procédures d’autorisation pour les types d’exploitation complexes (STS suisse, STS européen, PDRA) qui reposent toutes sur la méthode SORA. Celle-ci est une méthode d’évaluation des risques associés aux exploitations complexes de drone, comme les vols hors vue directe (BVLOS), les vols à plus de 120 m de hauteur ou l’exploitation de drones d’un poids maximum au décollage (MTOM) supérieur à 25 kg. 

La méthodologie d’évaluation SORA est un processus itératif d’identification systématique des risques associés aux exploitations complexes de drone : les requérants choisissent où, quand et comment ils exploiteront leur drone sans danger pour des personnes ou des objets dans les airs ou au sol. Au terme du processus, on obtient une image précise du type d’exploitation prévu, des risques qui y sont associés et des mesures d’atténuation nécessaire.

Préparation

Connaissances

Comme les requérants réalisent eux-mêmes l’évaluation des risques (ce peut être le cas d’une entreprise qui souhaite assurer une exploitation complexe), des connaissances de l’aviation et des procédures usuelles de vérification des systèmes liés à la sécurité sont indispensables. Suivant la complexité du type d’exploitation prévu, la méthodologie SORA peut s’avérer ardue à pratiquer, notamment lorsque l’évaluation des risques des vols de drones ne fait pas partie des activités traditionnelles de l’entreprise.

Autres aides

Soucieux de simplifier et d’harmoniser quelque peu les processus sous-jacents, l’OFAC, l’AESA et d’autres instances, comme JARUS, ont publié des modes d’emploi (GM) qui décrivent en détail les conditions qui doivent absolument figurer dans une documentation SORA (en anglais uniquement) :

Alternative Means of Compliance (AltMoC) - Confinement (étape 9 du SORA 2.0)

L'OFAC a publié un moyen alternatif de conformité (AltMoC) pour modifier les exigences en matière de confinement et l'évaluation de leur nécessité telles qu'elles figurent actuellement au chapitre 2.5.3 (étape 9 du SORA 2.0) de l'AMC1 à l'article 11 de (l'UE) 2019/947.

Cet AltMoC s'applique aux exploitants d’UAS de la catégorie spécifique en Suisse et se limite à la modification des critères d'évaluation du point 2.5.3(c) qui imposent un confinement renforcé pour certains exploitants.

Le fondement et les détails de cet AltMoC sont présentés dans le document suivant :

Démarches à accomplir pour obtenir une autorisation 

La procédure d’autorisation SORA suit fréquemment un processus itératif. Elle prend du temps et se déroule en concertation avec l’OFAC. En fonction de la complexité d’un projet et au gré des rectifications du dossier de sécurité suite à l’évaluation de l'OFAC, un délai plus long peut s’écouler jusqu’à ce que l’évaluation soit terminée.

Le processus, de la première prise de contact avec l’OFAC à l’autorisation en passant par la rédaction de la documentation SORA, peut se résumer aux étapes suivantes (en anglais uniquement) :

Modification d’une exploitation de drones déjà approuvée

Si vous souhaitez annoncer une modification opérationnelle ou technique apportée à une opération déjà autorisée par l'OFAC, veuillez utiliser le formulaire suivant pour étendre votre autorisation à cette modification.


Informations complémentaires


Dernière modification 01.02.2023

Début de la page